Back to School Tips for Teachers and Parents of Gifted Kids

Your Rainforest Mind

Alicia and me Alicia and me–Sorry, I couldn’t get a photo of her teaching.

My niece, Alicia, is a middle school English teacher. She loves, I mean LOVES, her job. I can imagine her in a classroom finding creative and sensitive ways to meet the needs of all of her little darlings. She’s the teacher we all want. The teacher who will change us in unexpected ways.

I’m guessing that you had one of those teachers and that you remember his or her name. That you’re grateful for the kindness or the intellectual excitement or the books s/he put into your hands.

I was a teacher, too, when I was in my 20’s and 30’s. Sixth grade, at first. Then I became a TAG (talented and gifted) teacher. I had the amazing opportunity to work with small groups of curious, funny, super-smart kids. One of them (now in his 40s) found me on Facebook the…

View original post 460 more words

Leave a Reply

